A Refreshing Summer Meal

Summer is long gone, but clearly I have some catching up to do…

This was a nice light meal on a hot summer day.  I served it for dinner but it would make a great lunch!

On the Menu:

Asparagus, Spinach, Feta Quiche

Apple, Kale, Quinoa, Salad

Healthy Fruit Popsicles

Homemade White Wine

The next three pictures are simply proof that 1) I make my own pastry.  and 2) It’s not hard, and tastes MUCH better than store bought pastry!  You should try it!

IMG_2620

IMG_2621

IMG_2622

I’ve never made quiche before, but it was surprisingly easy!  After making the pastry you cook up the veggies a bit and just pour in egg/cheese mixture.

Here’s how it looked when it was done:

IMG_2625

Next was the Apple, Kale, Quinoa Salad.  You’ll want to make the quinoa the day before so that it’s nice and cool by the time you are assembling the salad.  I use Granny Smith apples so that they don’t brown.  The apples add a nice crisp!

IMG_2624

This meal is (amazingly) hubby approved!  And accompanied by our homemade wine, it was perfect!

IMG_2634

For dessert, I made some healthy fruit popsicles!  I sliced up some strawberries and mango and filled the mild with lemonade.

IMG_2637

I did not squeeze the lemons to make the lemonade to fill the popsicles, but other than that, this meal was entirely from scratch which I love!  Time to make everything from scratch is sometimes one of those summer luxuries….

Wishing you warm memories of summer in this chilly season!

Love,

Candy

Leave a Reply

