Stained Glass Cupcakes

These cupcakes were made for a stained glass artist.

I wanted to include the stained glass theme in an edible, artistic and simple way.

Image

I made some plain chocolate cupcakes and piped them with vanilla butter cream icing.  Then I crushed jolly rancher candies.

Image

I then spooned the crushed candy onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet.

I tried a few different patterns….

…geometric…

Image

….and stripes with a mixture of colours at the bottom.

Image

No matter which pattern you choose, don’t leave any spaces between the candies or any layers too thin.

I popped the cookie sheets in the oven at 350 for about 5 minutes.  When they came out they looked like this:

Image

Then I swirled the candy together with a toothpick while the candy was still warm.

Image

They both turned out to be really beautiful and resembling stained glass.  The second one had a tie-dye feel.

Image

I let the candy cool and harden then broke it into shards of “glass” with my hands.

Image

I stuck each shard of “glass” upright in the cupcake icing.

I used silver cupcake cups to resemble the lead that goes between the glass pieces in stained glass artwork.

Each cupcake was unique!

Image

Image

Image

These were a fairly easy cupcake that had a great overall effect!

Happy Baking!

Love,

Candy

2 thoughts on “Stained Glass Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

