Healthy Breakfast Cookies

These breakfast cookies are SO simple and SO healthy you won’t believe it!

Image

You may have noticed that I haven’t posted on my blog since the end of August and that’s because I’m back to work again!  I don’t have much of an appetite when I first wake up, and can’t usually stomach anything until I’m in the car on the way to work.  Well that just leads to disaster!  These are a healthy option that I can grab and eat in the car instead of stopping at Canada’s most famous coffee shop…..if you know what I mean… 😉

My grocery store often sells large bags of bananas for 99 cents just because they’ve been separated from a bunch.  I let them ripen on the counter and then stick them in the freezer.

Image

Don’t be alarmed if you take them out and the skin is very black.  They will still be fine on the inside.  I take them out of the freezer to thaw a couple of hours before I’m ready to bake.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Snip the tip off of 2 bananas and squeeze the softened fruit into a bowl.Image

Mash the bananas with a fork. Image

Add one cup of rolled oats and stir to mix with the bananas.

Image

At this step, you can add anything you like!  In the past I’ve tried almonds, raisins, walnuts, and chocolate chips.  This time I’m using a handful of dried cranberries and a handful of raw unsalted pumpkin seeds.

Image

Mix all of the ingredients together.

Image

Using 2 spoons, drop the mixture onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet.

Press the cookies down a bit and make sure they are holding together.

Image

Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.  Remove from oven, let cool and enjoy!Image

I plan on packing these in twos and threes in ziplock bags and leaving them on my kitchen counter to grab on my way out the door to work to eat in the car.

Happy Healthy Snacking!

Love,

Candy

P.S. I bought ground flax seed especially to add to baking and I forgot to add it to these cookies!  😦  If anyone tries them with flax seed, let me know how they turn out!

Original Recipe

Leave a Reply

