Barley Salad with Orange Vinaigrette

Image

This is a very fresh tasting summer salad that’s also filling because of the barley!  Barley is not an ingredient I usually think of using but it’s a great change from your regular pasta or potato salad for a summer barbecue!

My Aunt found this recipe in the Toronto Star a few years ago and it’s been a hit ever since!  I’ll give you the recipe with my hints, tips and changes in italics.

Here’s the recipe:

Orange Vinaigrette:

2/3 cup orange juice –I just use orange juice from concentrate from a pitcher in the fridge.

1/4 cup white wine vinegar

1/4 cup olive oil

2 green onions, chopped –I leave these out because Hubby doesn’t like onions.

1 large clove garlic, chopped –I use pre-minced garlic from a jar.

1 tsp honey

1/2 tsp hot chill sauce –I use Frank’s!!!! 🙂

1/2 tsp ground cumin

salt and pepper to taste


Barley Salad:

1 cup pot or pearl barley –I use pearl barley.

3 cups vegetable stock or water –I just throw some vegetable bullion into the pot with the water and barley.

2 avocados, diced –I only had one avocado in the fridge.

1/2 cup finely chopped red onion –Again, Hubby doesn’t like onion; I left it out.

1 red bell pepper, finely chopped –Since I only had one avocado, I used 2 bell peppers.

zest and chopped flesh of 1 seedless orange –I like fruits and veggies, so I used 1 1/2 oranges.  I zest the orange first then cut it into wedges of eighths.  I cut the flesh of the orange off of the peel with a knife to avoid a lot of the “white stuff”.  I try to remove as much of the “whites stuff” as possible.

1/4 cup chopped cilantro leaves –I LOVE cilantro!!!! (but Hubby doesn’t.)  I left it out.

For Orange Vinaigrette, combine orange juice, vinegar, oil, onions, garlic, honey, chili sauce, cumin, salt, and pepper in a food processor or blender.  Blend until smooth.  Pour into lidded container and refrigerate until ready to use.  (Makes about 1 1/4 cups.) –No need to use a food processor!  Just dump it all in a bowl and whisk with a fork.

For Barley Salad, place barley in dry saucepan and toast over medium-high heat, stirring constantly until fragrant and barley golden, about 5 minutes.  Add stock or water and bring to a boil.  Cover and reduce heat to low.  Simmer, stirring occasionally, 45 minutes or until tender.  Drain; fluff with fork.  Toss with dressing; let stand at least 15 minutes if eating warm or refrigerate until chilled or up to overnight. –I like to refrigerate it over night because it helps the barley soak up the flavour of the dressing.

To serve, gently toss barley salad with avocados, onions, bell pepper, orange pics and zest, and cilantro.

Makes 6 to 8 servings.

Image

Enjoy this citrusy summer salad!

Love,

Candy

*The Star recipe says “Adapted from High Plains: The Joy of Alberta Cuisine by Cinda Cavich.”

Leave a Reply

