Quinoa, White Bean, Kale Soup

It’s August, so you’d think it would be hot right?  WRONG!  Very, very wrong!  It was so cold last night that Hubby requested soup!  (This is the man who is hot in a t-shirt in the middle of winter!)

I’ve made this soup before.  It freezes well in a glass container.  I just take it out of the freezer in the morning before I leave for work and heat it up on the stove when I get home.  This time however, seeing as it’s still summer, I didn’t have any sitting around in the freezer so I made it from scratch.

Image

It’s full of good-for-you foods!  Quinoa, White Beans, Kale, Carrots, Leeks: YUMMY!

Image

I left out the fennel seed because again, still no fennel in the house.  To be honest, I’ve never bought fennel before so the recipes never taste like they’re missing any flavours to me.  I guess I just don’t know what I’m missing!  (*New personal short term goal: Find, buy and cook with fennel seed.*)  I also used three carrots instead of the one carrot and one parsnip that the recipe called for.  The grocery store I stopped at didn’t have any parsnip.  There is also no potato in my soup.  Hubby seems to think that potato has to business being in soup! (I know what you’re thinking: “Huh?!” but that’s just him!)

Here’s the recipe!

This soup is vegetarian, gluten-free (as long as the broth you choose is gluten-free) and Hubby will eat it!  What an accomplishment!  To cut down on sodium, you may want to find a low-sodium soup base. Enjoy!

Love,

Candy

Leave a Reply

